Baking · breakfast · English

Simple Corn Muffins

Simple Corn Muffins

I love muffins, almost every single flavor. But my favorite is corn muffins. I think they remind me of my childhood in Brazil when my mom always made corn cake for me and my sisters. I remember when I was playing dolls with my sisters and we smelled that amazing cake.

So we knew that mom was baking corn cake and we would devour it warm with butter, oh so delicious. I have the recipe of my corn cake here on the blog, click for recipe https://fabirecipes.wordpress.com/2016/04/05/moist-and-soft-corn-cake/.

Back to the corn muffin post, these are the simplest muffins ever. A few ingredients that everybody has in their pantry, a few minutes to stir everything together then bake. In less than 30 minutes you can serve it warm with butter alongside a cup of fresh coffee. What can be easier than that?

Fabi 😘

Ingredients:

1 1/2 cup (180 grams) self-rising flour

1/2 cup (60 grams) corn meal finely ground

3/4 cup (150 grams) sugar

1 large egg

3/4 cup (180 ml) buttermilk *if you can’t find buttermilk where you live, I have my homemade version

1/3 (80 ml) cup canola oil

1/4 teaspoon salt

*Homemade Buttermilk: Place 3/4 cup (180 ml) whole milk in a glass measuring cup. Add 1 tablespoon white vinegar. Microwave for 20 seconds only. There you have it.

Instructions:

  • Preheat oven to 350F/180C.
  • Line a muffin tin with 12 paper liners.
  • In a large bowl add egg and whisk.

image1.jpg

  • Add buttermilk, oil, salt and sugar and whisk very well.
  • Using a large strainer, sift flour right on top of wet ingredients

image4.jpg

  • Add corn meal and stir with a wooden spoon just until moistened. Do not over mix.

*over mixing muffin batter makes them tough.

  • Fill muffin liners 3/4 of the way and sprinkle with coarse sugar if desired.

IMG_8329.JPG

  • Bake for 20-22 minutes or until toothpick inserted comes out clean.

Simple Corn Muffins

**I always spread butter on them and have a bite while they are still warm 😋

Corn Muffins4 copy.jpg

*You should do the same, LOL!!! Serve warm with butter, honey and a cup of coffee!

Simple Corn Muffins

Take a closer look at these scrumptious corn muffins:

Corn muffins

*If you try my recipe, please don’t forget to share your pictures with me on Instagram tagging me @fabi_recipes. I love seeing pictures ☺

Simple Corn Muffins

  • Servings: 12 standard muffins
  • Time: 40 minutes
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Simple Corn Muffins

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cup (180 grams) self-rising flour
  • 1/2 cup (60 grams) corn meal finely ground
  • 3/4 cup (150 grams) sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 3/4 cup (180 ml) buttermilk *if you can’t find buttermilk where you live, I have my homemade version at the end.
  • 1/3 (80 ml) cup canola oil
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt

Instructions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350F/180C.
  2. Line a muffin tin with 12 paper liners.
  3. In a large bowl add egg and whisk.
  4. Add buttermilk, oil, salt and sugar and whisk very well.
  5. Sift flour on top of wet ingredients. Add corn meal and stir with a wooden spoon just until moistened. Do not over mix.
    *over mixing muffin batter makes them tough.
  6. Fill muffin liners 3/4 of the way and sprinkle with coarse sugar if desired.
  7. Bake for 20-22 minutes or until toothpick inserted comes out clean.
  8. Serve warm with butter, honey and coffee!
    Enjoy!

**Homemade Buttermilk: Place 3/4 cup (180 ml) whole milk in a glass measuring cup. Add 1 tablespoon white vinegar. Microwave for 20 seconds only. There you have it.

https://wordpress.com/post/fabirecipes.wordpress.com/12079

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Simple Corn Muffins

Leave a Reply

