Baking · English · Holidays

Chocolate Panettone

 

chocolate panettone

Panettone is a sweet bread originally from Italy and very popular in Brazil. It is a tradition to serve Panettone on Christmas Eve or Christmas Day. And now it is becoming more and more popular in the United States (I’m Brazilian with an Italian heritage, living in USA 😉). My mom used to bake Panettone just before Christmas for me and my sisters. I remember the incredible and distinctive aroma in the entire house while it was being baked. Oh so good!

 So, when I saw this recipe in the magazine “Bake from Scratch” I immediately remembered the homemade Panettone from my childhood and I gave it a try.

 Even though this is not the original recipe from my family, it is a very good one.

 But, I had to make some substitutions, because my husband and my son don’t like the traditional Panettone with dried fruits and raisins. So I had to use chocolate chips instead. This version of Panettone is very good. And for those who love chocolate will definitely love the chocolate Panettone.

 I also used my bread maker to knead the dough, and do the first rising of the bread (which was faster), before adding the chocolate chips to it and do the second rising.

 So I’ll be sharing the way I made my chocolate Panettone.

 But if you want the original recipe, you can find it in the Bake from Scratch Magazine (Holiday Issue). Here is the link for the website:

http://www.hoffmanmediastore.com/bake-1/bake-from-scratch-holiday-2016.html

The Panettone paper liners and the Panettone flavoring (Fiori di Sicilia flavoring), I purchased from King Arthur Flour website:

http://www.kingarthurflour.com

 **This post is not sponsored by any parts mentioned here. The brands I used are my personal preferences.

Here is the recipe, I hope you like as much as we do! Happy Holidays! 🎆

Fabi 😘

*Recipe adapted from: Bake from Scratch Magazine-holiday issue

Ingredients:

2/3 cup warm water

2/3 cup granulated sugar

2 teaspoon active dry yeast

5 cups all-purpose flour

3 large eggs

Zest of 1 orange

1/2 teaspoon Fiori di Sicilia flavoring *my personal preference. Or 1 teaspoon (5 grams) vanilla bean paste

2 teaspoons sea salt

8 tablespoons unsalted butter softened

1 1/2 cups (270 grams) semi-sweet chocolate chips

Instructions:

* I used my bread maker to mix and to do the first rise of the dough.

*For the original method, please check out the magazine Bake from Scratch.

  • Place all ingredients (except chocolate chips) into a bread maker pan. Start with water, eggs, butter, orange zest and flavoring, then dry ingredients and last place yeast on top of flour.
  • Select “dough cycle” on your bread maker. ** Check a few minutes after it has started to adjust the dough by adding more flour.img_4350

* Let the machine finish its cycle.

img_4352

  • Place dough into a large bowl (spray with cooking spray first). Cover with a kitchen towel and transfer dough to refrigerator to rest overnight for 8-12 hours.

*Next day: Turn the dough onto a floured surface.

img_4353

  • Gently spread a little bit the dough with your hands and place chocolate chips.

img_4354

  • Knead in the chocolate chips very gently.

img_4362

  • Shape into a ball and place it into a Panettone paper mold.
  • Cover with a kitchen towel and let it stand in a warm draft-free place for about 4 hours or until it doubles in volume.

panetone

  • Preheat oven to 350oF (180oC).
  • Bake for 35 minutes. Cover with aluminum foil to prevent excess browning and bake additional 25-30 minutes.
  • Let it cool on a wire rack for about 1 hour before slicing.

chocolate-panettone1

Chocolate Panettone

  • Enjoy this delicious bread! It is also a good gift for your friends 😊.

Chocolate Panettone

**You can also split the panettone dough into 12 mini panettone paper liners 😍.  Aren’t they adorable?

*If you try my recipe, please don’t forget to share your pictures with me on Instagram tagging me @fabi_recipes. I love seeing pictures 😍.

 

Chocolate Panettone

  • Time: approximately 18 hours 
  • Difficulty: medium
  • Print

Chocolate Panettone

*Recipe adapted from: Bake from Scratch Magazine-holiday issue

Ingredients:

2/3 cup warm water

2/3 cup granulated sugar

2 teaspoon active dry yeast

5 cups all-purpose flour

3 large eggs

Zest of 1 orange

1/2 teaspoon Fiori di Sicilia flavoring *my personal preference. Or 1 teaspoon (5 grams) vanilla bean paste

2 teaspoons sea salt

8 tablespoons unsalted butter softened

1 1/2 cups (270 grams) semi-sweet chocolate chips

Instructions:

I used my bread maker to mix and to do the first rise of the dough. *for the original method, please check out the magazine.

* Place all ingredients (except chocolate chips) into a bread maker pan. Start with water, eggs, butter, orange zest and flavoring, then dry ingredients and last place yeast on top of flour.

* Select “dough cycle” on your bread maker.

** Check a few minutes after it has started to adjust the dough by adding more flour.

* Let the machine finish its cycle.

* Place dough into a large bowl (spray with cooking spray first). Cover with a kitchen towel and transfer dough to refrigerator to rest overnight for 8-12 hours.

* Next day: Turn the dough onto a floured surface.

* Gently spread a little bit the dough with your hands and place chocolate chips. Knead in the chocolate chips very gently.

* Shape into a ball and place it into a Panettone paper mold.

* Cover with a kitchen towel and let it stand in a warm draft-free place for about 4 hours or until it doubles in volume.

* Preheat oven to 350oF (180oC).

* Bake for 35 minutes. Cover with aluminum foil to prevent excess browning and bake additional 25-30 minutes.

* Let it cool on a wire rack for about 1 hour before slicing. * Enjoy this delicious bread!

*The original recipe, you can find in the “Bake from Scratch Magazine” (Holiday Issue). Here is the website: bakefromscratch.com

* The Panettone paper liners and the Panettone flavoring (Fiori di Sicilia flavoring), I purchased from King Arthur Flour website: kingarthurflour.com

https://wordpress.com/post/fabirecipes.wordpress.com/9820

 

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “Chocolate Panettone

Leave a Reply

