Dinner · English

Beef Stew with Pumpkin

Beef Stew with Pumpkin

Fall is here and there is nothing like eating comfort food. Like this delicious beef stew with pumpkin. I enjoy fall and everything with pumpkin.

I also enjoy cooking with my slow cooker and have my house smelling wonderful. I admit that I use my slow cooker more often during fall and winter. I love to use it to make stews and soups. I set it up in the morning and I don’t have to worry about cooking dinner, after a long busy day.

But talking about beef stew, you must have to make it with a fatty meat. Lean meats tend to be tough and kind of dry in a stew. The fat keeps the meat tender and it also helps develop a great flavor.

I don’t like fatty meats, so after the stew is ready, I cut the fat out and I don’t eat it.

I also tried to keep this dish easy. So, instead of a lot of vegetables, I chose to use only pumpkin. A lot of big chunks of a fresh orchard pumpkin. Plus a few easy spices and beef stock. But if you don’t have beef stock, use water and it will work fine as well.

I hope you enjoy my first recipe for the fall season.

More to come.

Fabi 😘

Ingredients:

2 lb. (1 Kg.) Chuck steak or any kind of meet for stew (the best ones are the ones with some fat in it) cut into 2 inch cubes

1 small pumpkin (3 lb./ 1.5 kg) cut into 3 inch pieces

1 medium onion chopped

3 garlic cloves chopped

3 tablespoons paprika

1 teaspoon dry basil

1 1/2 cups beef stock

Sea salt and black pepper to taste

img_2765-2

Instructions:

  1. Place meat, half of the onions and half of the garlic in a pot of a slow cooker.

img_2766

2. Place pumpkin pieces on top.

3. Add remaining onions and garlic.

4. In a measuring cup, add beef stock, paprika, basil, salt and pepper and stir.

img_2767-2

5. Pour it all over the pumpkin and around the edges of your slow cooker.

img_2768-2

6. Cover your slow cooker and cook on high for 5 hours or on low for 8 hours.

img_2769-2

7. Serve with rice of your choice.

** I served this beef stew with white rice cooked with broccoli florets and Italian seasoning.

fullsizerender-6

*If you try my recipe, please don’t forget to share your pictures with me on Instagram tagging me @fabi_recipes. I love seeing pictures 😊.

Beef Stew with Pumpkin

  • Servings: 4-6
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

fullsizerender-6

Ingredients:

2 lb. (1 Kg.) Chuck steak or any kind of meet for stew (the best ones are the ones with some fat in it) cut into 2 inch cubes

1 small pumpkin (3 lb./ 1.5 kg.)  cut into 3 inch pieces

1 medium onion chopped

3 garlic cloves chopped

3 tablespoons paprika

1 teaspoon dry basil

1 1/2 cups beef stock

Sea salt and black pepper to taste

Instructions:

  1. Place meat, half of the onions and half of the garlic in a pot of a slow cooker.
  2. Pace pumpkin pieces on top.
  3. Add remaining onions and garlic.
  4. In a measuring cup, add beef stock, paprika, Basil, salt and pepper and stir.
  5. Pour it all over the pumpkin and around the edges of your slow cooker.
  6. Cover your slow cooker and cook on high for 5 hours or low for 8 hours.
  7. Serve with rice of your choice.

** I served this beef stew with rice cooked with white broccoli florets and Italian seasoning.

**Enjoy!!!

https://wordpress.com/post/fabirecipes.wordpress.com/8954

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

