Dinner · English · lunch · main dish

White Cheddar Macaroni and Cheese

Mac and cheese

Mac and Cheese and Blog Anniversary!!!

One year ago I started this blog. And I had no idea how to post anything on the blog. Lol. In the beginning, it is very hard for every step, from adding nice, high quality pictures, and writing nice posts, to developing delicious, never fail recipes, and taking step by step pictures, like I do now. Not to mention that I don’t have a professional camera. All the pictures are taken on my iPhone 5S. A lot is involved in a blog.

I still don’t know how to do everything, and I’m patiently waiting for my first sponsored post or product. This way I can start making money by blogging. It’s a hard path, that a lot of people give up doing.

If you look at my blog archives, you will notice that I had posted July 2015 and the next one is November 2015 (because I was frustrated that I didn’t know how the blog works, and almost gave up completely.) But I started to blog again and I really started gaining more followers and more traffic on my blog only around 3 months ago. I know I still have a lot to learn about blogging. But the import factor here is: the content of my blog, the never fail recipes I post are totally worth trying.

In addition, I post the same recipe in two languages (English and Portuguese), so everything together is a lot of work! But I really like blogging. It is so rewarding when I receive a comment or a compliment on my recipes. Even better when someone shares a picture of the dish they tried, and how it worked great for them, and how they loved it. I would like to thank you, readers of my blog, my followers, my friends and family for all the support!

The first post on my blog, was Mac and cheese. A staple American dish that everyone in America loves, especially the kids.
I always make homemade Mac and cheese and my family and friends love it so much. Sometimes I use different types of cheese, but most of the time I only use cheddar cheese. Yellow or white. Anyway, Mac and cheese is always good. It is also my 3 and half year old sons favorite dish.

Today, because my blog is 1 year old, I want to share another Mac and cheese recipe that I make quite often. I served with steamed broccoli florets and pan-seared chicken breast. Oh it is so good!

Today was a big post. But I just want to share my story with you!

Have a great day everyone and enjoy this Mac and cheese!

Fabi 😘

White cheddar Mac and cheese

Ingredients:

1 lb. short cut pasta of your choice

2 cups (8 oz/ 226 grams) sharp white cheddar cheese shredded

1 1/4 cup milk (I use 2%)

1 cup (8 oz/ 240 ml) heavy cream

2 tablespoons butter

2 tablespoons all-purpose flour

1 1/2 tablespoons organic ground mustard

Salt and pepper to taste

IMG_8942 (2)

**Optional:

Broccoli florets (steamed)

Chicken breast filet (pan-seared)

I seasoned the chicken breast with: fresh minced garlic Italian seasoning Salt and pepper to taste

Instructions:

  • Cook pasta according to package directions. Drain water very well.
  • In a medium sauce pan, add butter over medium heat.
  • After butter has melted, add flour and mustard and whisk for 1 minute until bubbly.
  • Add milk at once and whisk for about 2 minutes, so it doesn’t get clumps.

IMG_8950 (2)

  • Add heavy cream, salt and pepper to taste.
  • Whisk until sauce thickens. When sauce is at a simmer, add cheese and stir. Do not let it boil.

IMG_8953 (2)

  • Pour over macaroni and stir.

IMG_8956 (2)

  • Serve with steamed broccoli and pan-seared chicken breast.

**Pan seared chicken breast:

  • Cut each chicken breast in half to make 2 thin breast filets.
  • Season with minced garlic, salt and pepper, and Italian seasoning.
  • Heat a cast iron skillet over medium heat. Add a drizzle of olive oil and cook chicken 8 minutes per side or until browned.
  • Place mac and cheese into a bowl to serve.
  • Cut chicken in small pieces and place on top of macaroni.
  • Enjoy!!!

Macaroni and Cheese

*If you try my recipe, please don’t forget to share your pictures with me on Instagram tagging me @fabi_recipes. I love seeing pictures 😊

White Cheddar Macaroni and Cheese

  • Servings: 4-6
  • Time: 30 minutes
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Mac and cheese

Ingredients:

1 lb. short cut pasta of your choice

2 cups (8 oz/ 226 grams) sharp white cheddar cheese shredded

1 1/4 cup milk (I use 2%)

1 cup (8 oz/ 240 ml) heavy cream

2 tablespoons butter

2 tablespoons all-purpose flour

1 1/2 tablespoons organic ground mustard

Salt and pepper to taste

**Optional: Broccoli florets (steamed)

Chicken breast filet (pan-seared). I seasoned the chicken breast with: fresh minced garlic Italian seasoning, and salt and pepper to taste.

Instructions:

  • Cook pasta according to package directions. Drain water very well.
  • In a medium sauce pan, add butter over medium heat.
  • After butter has melted, add flour and mustard and whisk for 1 minute until bubbly.
  • Add milk at once and whisk for about 2 minutes, so it doesn’t get clumps.
  • Add heavy cream, salt and pepper to taste.
  • Whisk until sauce thickens. When sauce is at a simmer, add cheese and stir. Do not let it boil.
  • Pour over macaroni and stir.
  • Serve with steamed broccoli and pan-seared chicken breast.

**Pan seared chicken breast:

  • Cut each chicken breast in half to make 2 thin breast filets.
  • Season with minced garlic, salt and pepper, and Italian seasoning.
  • Heat a cast iron skillet over medium heat. Add a drizzle of olive oil and cook chicken 8 minutes per side or until browned.
  • Place mac and cheese into a bowl to serve.
  • Cut chicken in small pieces and place on top of macaroni.
  • Enjoy!!! 😊

https://wordpress.com/post/fabirecipes.wordpress.com/7959

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “White Cheddar Macaroni and Cheese

  1. Congratulations on your Blog Anniversary! I am glad you decided to stick with it. I feel your frustration – blogging is not always easy. Even though I am quite new to reading your blog, I am enjoying it very much. I admire you posting in two languages. Keep up the great work! oh and I am such a huge Macaroni and Cheese lover, I look forward to trying your recipe out! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

