Baking · English

Buttermilk Biscuits

biscuits17

Hello,

Who doesn’t love a fresh homemade buttermilk biscuit? They are easy to make and I love to eat them warm for breakfast and just spread my homemade strawberry jam on them.

I actually tried a lot of buttermilk biscuits before, and I end up creating my own. They turn out very good every single time I make them. Everyone who tries my biscuits loves them. So I think that is a good thing ;-).

So, I think you all should try this recipe. Also if you want to try them with my homemade strawberry jam, the recipe is already on the blog.

Enjoy!!!

Ingredients:

2 ¼ cups unbleached self-rising flour (I like King Arthur Flour)

1 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon sugar

7 tablespoon butter (cold and diced)

¼ cup vegetable shortening (I prefer non- hydrogenated shortening)

1 cup buttermilk (store bought or homemade)

Prepare:

* If you can’t find buttermilk where you live, you can make a very easy one:

In a measuring cup add 1 ¼ tablespoon white vinegar or lemon juice. Add whole milk to the 8 oz. mark. Let it sit at room temperature for minimum 30 minutes. And it is ready for use.

You can prepare this recipe:

  1. Using a food processor (my favorite option)
  2. Or you can just use a large bowl and mix with your hands.

biscuits1

  • I will be showing you my favorite option: in a food processor.
  • Preheat oven to 400oF.
  • Grease a cookie sheet with butter.
  • I prefer to use the food processor because I think it is easier. You just need to pulse a few times and the dough is ready!
  • In the food processor add flour, sugar, salt, butter and shortening.

biscuits2

  • Pulse 3-4 times or until mixture resembles coarse meal.

biscuits3

  • Set aside 3 tablespoons of the buttermilk.
  • Add the remaining buttermilk slowly. Pulsing while adding it.

biscuits4

  • The dough will start to get its consistency. Do not pulse for long periods or you will end up with tough biscuits.

biscuits5

biscuits6

  • Take the dough out of the food processor and place it in a floured surface.

biscuits8

  • Gently pat the dough until it is 1 inch thick.

biscuits9

  • Fold it in half and in half again. Repeat this process 3 times.

biscuits10

  • The last time, gently pat the dough until it is 3/4 inch thick. Cut using a round biscuit cutter or a round cookie cutter.

biscuits11

biscuits13

  • Place the biscuits on a prepared baking sheet and brush them with the reserved buttermilk.

biscuits14

  • Bake for about 10-12 minutes or until lightly browned. Do not over bake.

biscuits15

  • Brush melted butter on the biscuits as soon they come out of the oven.

biscuits16

  • Serve warm.

biscuits18

biscuits19

*If you try my recipe, please don’t forget to share your pictures with me on Instagram, tagging me @fabi_recipes. I love seeing the pictures :).

Buttermilk Biscuits

  • Servings: 12-14 biscuits
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

biscuits17

Ingredients:

2 ¼ cups unbleached self-rising flour (I like King Arthur Flour)

1 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon sugar

7 tablespoon butter (cold and diced)

¼ cup vegetable shortening (I prefer non- hydrogenated shortening)

1 cup buttermilk (store bought or homemade)

Prepare:

* If you can’t find buttermilk where you live, you can make a very easy one:

In a measuring cup add 1 ¼ tablespoon white vinegar or lemon juice. Add whole milk to the 8 oz. mark. Let it sit at room temperature for minimum 30 minutes. And it is ready for use.

You can prepare this recipe:

  1. Using a food processor (my favorite option);
  2. Or you can just use a large bowl and mix with your hands.

I will be showing you my favorite option: in a food processor.

  • Preheat oven to 400oF.
  • Grease a cookie sheet with butter.
  • I prefer to use the food processor because I think it is easier. You just need to pulse a few times and the dough is ready!
  • In the food processor add flour, sugar, salt, butter and shortening. Pulse 3-4 times or until mixture resembles coarse meal.
  • Set aside 3 tablespoons of the buttermilk.
  • Add the remaining buttermilk slowly. Pulsing while adding it.
  • The dough will start to get its consistency. Do not pulse for long periods or you will end up with tough biscuits.
  • Take the dough out of the food processor and place it in a floured surface.
  • Gently pat the dough until it is 1 inch thick. Fold it in half and in half again. Repeat this process 3 times.
  • The last time, gently pat the dough until it is 3/4 inch thick. Cut using a round biscuit cutter or a round cookie cutter.
  • Place the biscuits on a prepared baking sheet and brush them with the reserved buttermilk.
  • Bake for about 10-12 minutes or until lightly browned. Do not over bake.
  • Brush melted butter on the biscuits as soon they come out of the oven.
  • Serve warm.
  • My suggestion is: serving them with my homemade strawberry jam (recipe is on the blog) for a delicious breakfast :).

https://wordpress.com/post/fabirecipes.wordpress.com/3427

**Click to save this recipe:

Buttermilk Biscuits-recipe

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Buttermilk Biscuits

Leave a Reply

