breakfast · English · snacks

Homemade Strawberry Jam with touch of Honey

IMG_6590

Do you like spring? I do. I think I like it, just because it is the beginning of everything fresh!!! New leaves, new flowers, oops, I like this part, but I do have allergies, but that’s OK, because just the air being fresh, somehow I feel happier. Bright and longer sunny days… Ahhh so good. Then comes the season that I really love: SUMMER! OK, that will be another post ;).

Strawberries are in season during spring and I love strawberries. Also they are cheaper when they’re in season. We can find very delicious, juice, and beautiful organic strawberries really cheap. I remember last January (I know, middle of winter), 1 lb. organic strawberries was $8 dollars! Really expensive, don’t you think?

Anyway, now it’s time to make everything with strawberries. I will have new recipes using this delicious fruit more often here on the blog.

Today, I will be sharing a very easy recipe: Homemade Strawberry Jam with touch of honey. I found out that the honey makes the jam thicker and easy to spread. But this is only my point of view. I don’t know if you will agree. But I will be happy if you try my recipe and let me know how it turned out for you!

Enjoy and have a lovely Spring :).

Fabi

Ingredients: 

1 lb. (1 ½ cups) fresh strawberries (washed and cut into small cubes)

1 cup sugar

½ lemon

1 tablespoon honey

IMG_6575

**I’m not showing the honey in the picture, but you will need it ;).

Prepare:

  • In a medium pan, over low heat, add strawberries and mash them with a potato masher.

IMG_6577

  • Squeeze the 1/2 lemon (be careful for not to let any seeds get in the pan).

IMG_6578

  • Add sugar and turn up the heat to medium.
  • Mix well.

IMG_6579

  • Let it cook for about 10 minutes, stirring occasionally, so the strawberries start to release their juices.
  • Add honey, and let it cook for 10 more minutes.

IMG_6581

  • At this moment, if you notice some bigger pieces of strawberries try to mash them all, so you end up with only very small pieces.

IMG_6584

  • The jam is ready, when its color is darker, and it gets thicker. Also when you stir, you can see the bottom of your pan.

IMG_6588

  • The whole cooking time is no longer than 20 minutes. But be careful, so your jam doesn’t burn.
  • Let the jam cool a little bit, before placing it into a small mason jar.

IMG_6590

  • Let it cool at least 1 hour before serving it.
  • Store it in the refrigerator for no longer than 7-10 days.

IMG_6593

  • Enjoy it with your morning toast, waffles, or with my buttermilk biscuits (recipe on the blog soon).

*If you try my recipe, please don’t forget to share your pictures with me on Instagram, tagging me @fabi_recipes. I love seeing the pictures 🙂

Homemade Strawberry Jam with touch of Honey

  • Servings: 1 (6 oz.) mason jar
  • Time: 40 minutes
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

IMG_6591

 

 

 

Ingredients:

1 lb. (1 ½ cups) fresh strawberries (washed and cut into small cubes)

1 cup sugar

½ lemon

1 tablespoon honey

Prepare:

  • In a medium pan, over low heat, add strawberries and mash them with a potato masher.
  • Squeeze the lemon (be careful for not to let any seeds get in the pan), add sugar and turn up the heat to medium.
  • Mix well.
  • Let it cook for about 10 minutes, stirring occasionally, so the strawberries start to release their juices.
  • Add honey, and let it cook for 10 more minutes. If you notice some bigger pieces of strawberries try to mash them all, so you end up with only very small pieces.
  • The jam is ready, when its color is darker, and it gets thicker. Also when you stir, you can see the bottom of your pan.
  • The whole cooking time is no longer than 20 minutes. But be careful, so your jam doesn’t burn.
  • Let the jam cool a little bit, before placing it into a small mason jar.
  • Store it in the refrigerator for no longer than 7-10 days.

Enjoy it with your morning toast, waffles, or with my buttermilk biscuits (recipe on the blog this week) 🙂

https://wordpress.com/post/fabirecipes.wordpress.com/3206

**Click to save this recipe:

Strawberry Jam with touch of honey

 

5 thoughts on “Homemade Strawberry Jam with touch of Honey

Leave a Reply

